Forcing RGB mode on a monitor connected via HDMI in macOS

boring apple

Photo by Mitchell Y.

I recently bought myself a new monitor and discovered an annoying issue that affects all macOS users. If the monitor claims to support both colour spaces RGB and YCbCr , macOS always uses the latter, and it is impossible to change this behaviour in the system preferences. On some monitors, this problem manifests itself more strongly. On some, it is not at all noticeable. This problem exists when connecting either via HDMI or via DisplayPort .

How do you know that your monitor is operating in YCbCr colour space?

Some monitors directly indicate what colour space they are using in the OSD (On-screen display). On Dell monitors, for example, one can find this information in Color Settings -> Input Color Format.

My monitor does not show this information, but it automatically switches the black level based on the colour space in use. If it receives an RGB signal, it sets the black level to High, if YCbCr – to Low.

Sometimes you can understand that non-RGB colour space is used by the quality of the picture. Typical signs:

What’s wrong with YCbCr?

A screen image (framebuffer ) is stored on your computer as a set of pixels in the RGB format: three n-bit (most often 8-bit) numbers, one for red, green and blue components. A monitor is made up of pixels, divided into three sub-pixels: red, green, and blue. So, the monitor needs this RGB data to display the picture.

The YCbCr format replaces the luminance values of the red, green, and blue components with three other numbers: pixel luminance and two chromatic components. This colour space is used to reduce the load on the data transmission channel since the human eye is much more susceptible to changes in brightness than to changes in colour, and therefore both chromatic components in a YCbCr signal can be compressed with loss without losing much in perceived picture quality.

Picture from the Wikipedia article

Naturally, this reasoning is utterly inappropriate for the case when we connect a monitor to a MacBook at home with an HDMI cable with a bandwidth of 40 gigabits per second. MacOS, however, whenever possible, prefers the YCbCr colour space.

This often results in distorted and washed-out colours, washed-out blacks, difficulties adjusting the image, coloured pixels around letters, and loss of the picture sharpness. Of course, the severity of the effects will depend on the monitor - on some monitors the picture will be much worse than in RGB mode, but on some monitors, it will be almost indistinguishable.

So what can you do?

Fortunately, macOS has a mechanism that allows fixing this mess: the ability to override the EDID of the monitor. EDID stands for Extended Display Identification Data . EDID is a piece of information that the monitor transmits to the operating system telling it about the colour spaces it supports, modes of operation, audio formats, colour profiles, and much more.

Here I will not describe the structure and specification of EDID as I did not fully understand it and it is very well explained on Wikipedia.
I will only list the specific instructions on making macOS think that your monitor only supports RGB colour space.

So, there is a solution that has been written about many times on the Internet – a Ruby script by Andrew Daugherity . The script does its job, but at the same time deletes from EDID all sections except the main one, which leads to the loss of many monitor capabilities.

For example, if I use this script without any modifications, my 1440p monitor loses the ability to work in modes above 1080p, which, of course, is unacceptable.

Therefore, we will start by using this script, and if the result does not suit you, we will dive a little deeper, modifying EDID manually. It is desirable to have a Windows machine for best results, but in theory, you can do everything without it.

So let’s go.

Step-by-step instruction

1. Download and run the original script

With an external monitor connected, download and run the script by Andrew Daugherity (I forked it to make sure it will not change).

The script performs four steps:

The directory and file name depends on the manufacturer and model of your monitor. For example, in my case it is the DisplayVendorID-1e6d/DisplayProductID-5b80. The file is a plain text plist.

<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
  <key>DisplayProductName</key>
  <string>LG ULTRAGEAR - forced RGB mode (EDID override)</string>
  <key>IODisplayEDID</key>
  <data>AP///////wAebYBbNtMDAAkeAQOAPCJ44oy1r09DqyYOUFQlSwBxQIGAgcCp
wLMA0cCBANHPWqAAoKCgRlAwIDoAVVAhAAAaAAAA/QAwkB7mPAAKICAgICAg
AAAA/ABMRyBVTFRSQUdFQVIKAAAA/wAwMDlOVFNVN0M2NzgKAO8=
</data>
  <key>DisplayVendorID</key>
  <integer>7789</integer>
  <key>DisplayProductID</key>
  <integer>23424</integer>
</dict>
</plist>

The most important part is the data field. It contains modified EDID encoded in base64 .

2. Install modified EDID

The resulting directory must be copied to the directory /Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides. Create intermediate directories if necessary.

3. Reboot

Restart your computer and check the result. If the monitor goes into RGB mode and nothing breaks, congratulations, nothing else is required, and you can safely close this article.

If something breaks, remove the override, restart your computer again and go to the next step.

4. Modifying EDID manually

Now we need some EDID editor. I used the Advantiv EDID Editor , as it was the only one I tried to recognize all the additional sections of the file generated by my monitor. Unfortunately, it is only available for Windows, so I had to use a virtual machine.

You can use any other EDID editor of your choice.

The first step is to save EDID to the binary file. I used Hex Fiend for this.

The command ioreg -l -d0 -w 0 -r -c AppleDisplay will output EDIDs of the connected external monitors. We are interested in the string "IODisplayEDID"= <...>, where instead of an ellipsis there will be a long hex sequence, which must be inserted into Hex Fiend and saved as edid.bin.

In Advantiv EDID Editor, to open a binary file, you need to use File -> Import -> Binary. After import, all sections and subsections in the file will become visible on the left, and fields for each subsection will be available for editing on the right.

It is necessary to change the values of the following fields:

Now you can export the file (File -> Export -> Binary) to edid-edited.bin.

5. Replacing EDID in the plist file

Now you need to encode the modified binary file to the base64 encoding and replace the <data> section in the file generated on the first step.

For encoding file to the base64, I used the following script:

#!/usr/bin/ruby

require 'base64'

File.open(ARGV[0], 'rb') { |f| puts Base64.encode64(f.read) }

6. Replace the file and reboot

So, the only thing left is to repeat steps 2 and 3. If this does not work, you can try deleting CEA sections one by one, except the CEA -> Video -> SVD, checking if that worked.

Решение проблемы с RGB при подключении монитора по HDMI на macOS

Автор фотографии – Mitchell Y.

Недавно купил себе новый монитор и обнаружил неприятную проблему, которая затрагивает всех пользователей macOS. Проблема заключается в том, что если монитор заявляет поддержку цветовых пространств RGB и YCbCr, macOS всегда использует последнее и изменить это поведение в настройках невозможно. На каких-то мониторах эта проблема проявляется сильнее, на каких-то она совсем не заметна. Эта проблема существует и при подключении через HDMI и через DisplayPort.

Как понять что ваш монитор работает в пространстве YCbCr?

Некоторые мониторы в информации в OSD (On-screen display) прямо указывают в каком цветовом пространстве они работают. Например, DELL делает это в разделе Color Settings -> Input Color Format.

Мой монитор не показывает этой информации, но он автоматически переключает уровень черного в зависимости от используемой цветовой модели. Если ему поступает RGB сигнал, он устанавливает уровень черного в High, если же YCbCr – в Low.

Иногда понять что используется не цветовое пространство RGB можно по качеству картинки. Типичные признаки:

  • картинка ощутимо хуже, чем при подключении к Windows машине;
  • вокруг букв появляются разноцветные пиксели;
  • как бы вы не старались настраивать монитор, цвета получаются блеклыми, а черный либо слишком глубокий, либо слишком выцветший.

Чем плох YCbCr?

Картинка (framebuffer) в вашем компьютере хранится как набор пикселей в формате RGB: три n-битных (чаще всего 8-битных) числа, по одному на красную, зеленую и синюю компоненты. Монитор состоит из пикселей, каждый из которых разделен на три субпикселя: красного, зеленого и синего цвета. Соответственно, монитору для отображения картинки также необходимы данные в формате RGB.

Формат YCbCr заменяет значения яркости красной, зеленой и синей компоненты на три других числа: яркость пикселя и две хроматические компоненты. Это цветовое пространство используется для того, чтобы снизить нагрузку на канал передачи данных, поскольку человеческий глаз гораздо более восприимчив к изменению яркости, чем к изменению цвета, а следовательно, обе хроматические компоненты в YCbCr сигнале можно сжать с потерями, не сильно проиграв в воспринимаемом качестве картинки.

Изображение из статьи в Wikipedia

Естественно, эти рассуждения совершенно не подходят для случая, когда мы подключаем дома монитор к макбуку HDMI кабелем с шириной пропускания канала 40 гигабит в секунду. Но macOS это совершенно не интересует, и всегда, когда можно, она использует именно цветовое пространство YCbCr.

Часто это выражается в искаженных и блеклых цветах, выцветшем черном, сложностях с настройкой изображения, цветных пикселях вокруг букв, меньшей четкости картинки. Степень выраженности эффектов, естественно, будет зависеть от монитора – где-то картинка будет сильно хуже, чем в RGB режиме, где-то – почти неотличима.

Так что же делать?

К счастью, в macOS есть механизм, который позволяет исправить это безобразие. Выражается он в возможности переопределить EDID монитора. EDID расшифровывается как Extended Display Identification Data. Это информация, которую монитор передает операционной системе, о поддерживаемых им цветовых пространствах, режимах работы, аудио форматах, цветовых профилях и о многом чём ещё.

Здесь я не буду описывать структуру и спецификацию EDID, она очень хорошо представлена в Википедии, да и я в ней полноценно не разбирался. Я лишь опишу конкретную инструкцию как заставить macOS думать что ваш монитор поддерживает только цветовое пространство RGB.

Итак, существует решение, о котором уже много раз писалось в интернете – скрипт на Ruby за авторством Andrew Daugherity. Скрипт выполняет свою функцию, но удаляет при этом из EDID все блоки кроме основного, что приводит к потере работоспособности многих возможностей монитора.

Например, если я использую этот скрипт без доработок, мой 1440p монитор теряет возможность работать в режимах выше 1080p, что, естественно, неприемлемо.

Поэтому мы начнем с использования этого скрипта и если вдруг результат вас не устроит, пойдем чуть более долгим и сложным путём. Для достижения наилучшего результата желательно иметь машину с Windows, но в теории можно справиться и без неё.

Итак, поехали.

Пошаговая инструкция

1. Скачайте и запустите скрипт

При подключенном внешнем мониторе скачайте и запустите скрипт от Andrew Daugherity (я форкнул его, чтобы удостовериться, что он не изменится).

Скрипт делает четыре вещи:

  1. Получает EDID внешнего монитора.
  2. Устанавливает поддерживаемое цветовое пространство в RGB.
  3. Удаляет все секции кроме основной.
  4. Сохраняет EDID в понятном macOS формате в виде единственного файла в директории с особым именем.

Имя директории и файла зависят от производителя и модели вашего монитора. Например в моём случае это DisplayVendorID-1e6d/DisplayProductID-5b80. Файл – обычный текстовый plist.

<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
  <key>DisplayProductName</key>
  <string>LG ULTRAGEAR - forced RGB mode (EDID override)</string>
  <key>IODisplayEDID</key>
  <data>AP///////wAebYBbNtMDAAkeAQOAPCJ44oy1r09DqyYOUFQlSwBxQIGAgcCp
wLMA0cCBANHPWqAAoKCgRlAwIDoAVVAhAAAaAAAA/QAwkB7mPAAKICAgICAg
AAAA/ABMRyBVTFRSQUdFQVIKAAAA/wAwMDlOVFNVN0M2NzgKAO8=
</data>
  <key>DisplayVendorID</key>
  <integer>7789</integer>
  <key>DisplayProductID</key>
  <integer>23424</integer>
</dict>
</plist>

Самая важная его часть – data. Здесь в base64 закодирован модифицированный EDID.

2. Установите модифицированный EDID

Полученную директорию необходимо скопировать по адресу /Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides, создав промежуточные директории если необходимо.

3. Перезагрузите компьютер

Перезагрузите компьютер, и проверьте результат. Если монитор перешел в режим RGB и ничего не сломалось, поздравляю, больше ничего не требуется, можете спокойно закрывать эту статью.

Если же что-то сломалось, то удалите override, перезагрузите компьютер ещё раз и переходите к следующему шагу.

4. Правим EDID вручную

Дальше придется работать руками. Нам понадобится какой-нибудь редактор EDID. Я использовал Advantiv EDID Editor, так как он единственный среди опробованных мной распознал все дополнительные секции файла, сгенерированного моим монитором. К сожалению, доступен он только для Windows, поэтому пришлось использовать виртуальную машину.

Вы можете использовать любой другой редактор EDID по вашему выбору.

Чтобы EDID можно было открыть в редакторе, его необходимо сохранить в бинарный файл. Я для этого использовал Hex Fiend.

Команда ioreg -l -d0 -w 0 -r -c AppleDisplay покажет всю доступную информацию о внешних мониторах, полученную от них самих. В выводе нас интересует строка "IODisplayEDID" = <...>, где вместо троеточия будет длинная hex последовательность, которую необходимо вставить в Hex Fiend и сохранить как edid.bin.

В Advantiv EDID Editor для того, чтобы открыть бинарный файл, необходимо воспользоваться пунктом меню File -> Import -> Binary. После импорта слева станут видны все находящиеся в файле разделы и подразделы, а справа для каждого подраздела будут доступны для редактирования его поля.

Необходимо поменять значения следующих полей:

  1. В EDID -> VESA -> Basic -> Features Supported -> Display Color выбрать Monochrome (не RGB)
  2. В EDID -> CEA -> Head -> Head отключить YCbCr 444 и YCbCr 422
  3. В EDID -> CEA -> VSDB -> VSDB (HDMI) в секции Deep Color отключить Y444

Теперь файл можно экспортировать (File -> Export -> Binary), например в edid-edited.bin.

5. Заменяем EDID в plist

Полученный бинарный файл необходимо перевести в base64 и заменить им содержимое секции <data> в сгенерированном скриптом plist файле.

Для перевода файла в base64 я использовал следующий скрипт:

#!/usr/bin/ruby

require 'base64'

File.open(ARGV[0], 'rb') { |f| puts Base64.encode64(f.read) }

6. Заменяем файл и перезагружаемся

Осталось повторить шаги 2 и 3 и надеяться что всё заработает как нужно. Если не заработало, можно попробовать удалять секции внутри раздела CEA одну за другой кроме CEA -> Video -> SVD.